About the SCP

The Society of Christian Philosophers was organized in 1978 to promote fellowship among Christian Philosophers and to stimulate study and discussion of issues which arise from their Christian and philosophical commitments. One of its chief aims is to go beyond the usual philosophy of religion sessions at the American Philosophical Association and to stimulate thinking about the nature and role of Christian commitment in philosophy.

Informal discussion among several Christian philosophers led them to believe that it was possible to form a group designed to promote philosophizing and fellowship among philosophers who shared a commitment to Christianity. Past Presidents include Marilyn McCord Adams, Robert Audi, Linda Zagzebski, William Wainwright, Eleonore Stump, and Peter Van Inwagen. Michael Bergmann, Purdue University, is the current President and Justin McBrayer, Fort Lewis College, is the Executive Director of SCP.

The Society is open to anyone interested in philosophy who considers himself or herself a Christian. Membership is not restricted to any particular “school” of philosophy or to any branch of Christianity, nor to professional philosophers.

Meetings of the Society are regularly held in conjunction with the American Catholic Philosophical Association, the Eastern, Central, and Pacific Divisions of the American Philosophical Association, and the American Academy of Religion. The Society is committed to three regular regional conferences: Eastern, Midwest and Mountain-Pacific Region.One does not need to be an SCP member in order to present or be on the program at an SCP conference. For information on dates and organizers of conferences please check the Conference Information page or the News and Events page.